BOS REORG MINUTES

Dickinson Township Board of Supervisors

January 6, 2025, Dickinson Township Meeting Room 6:00 pm

Attendance

Board Members:

Rob Kole, Robert "Bob" Line III, Jennifer DeGaetano

Absent: Jason Reichard, Engineer

Staff:

Lucas Martsolf, Glenn Kelso, Laci Hockenberry, Abigail Miller, Matthew Boyer, Solicitor via phone

Visitors: Harold Cooney, Michelle Line, Marty Williams

CALL TO ORDER

Rob Kole called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those in attendance.

OPENDING ANNOUNCEMENTS

• A reminder that more information about our community can be found on our website at <u>www.dickinsontownship.org</u>

NOMINATION TO APPOINT A TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON

Rob Kole motioned to appoint Solicitor Boyer as the temporary Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors for the 2025 calendar year. The nomination was seconded by Jennifer DeGaetano and passed unanimously.

NOMINATION & ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON OF BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Jennifer DeGaetano nominated Rob Kole for the Chairman of the Board of Supervisors for the 2025 calendar year. The motion was seconded by Rob Kole and passed unanimously.

NOMINIATION & ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON OF BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Chairman Kole nominated Jennifer DeGaetano for the Vice Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors for the 2025 calendar year. The nomination was seconded by Bob Line and passed unanimously.

7 AGENDA APPROVAL

A motion was made by Vice Chairperson DeGaetano to approve the agenda. Chairman Kole seconded the motion. Supervisor Line believes that the public comment prior to the agenda items is not functional and thinks it is important that residents get to comment on the agenda items as they are discussed. The motion passed by majority vote. Supervisor Line voted no.

8 PUBLIC COMMENT – AGENDA ITEMS ONLY

9. CONSENT AGENDA

Supervisor Line motioned to approve items 9a. through 9 cc. The motion was seconded by Vice Chairperson DeGaetano and passed unanimously.

- **a.** Township Manager Vacant
- b. Assistant Manager Vacant
- c. Secretary/Treasurer Laci Hockenberry
- d. Zoning & Codes Enforcement Officer Abigail Miller
- e. Receptionist/Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Vacant
- **f.** Sewage Enforcement Officer KPI Technology Gilbert Picarelli @ current fee schedule. No increase for 2025.
- **g.** Assistant Sewage Enforcement Officers Leah Heine and Dominic Picarelli @ current fee schedule. No increase for 2025.
- **h.** Public Works Director Glenn Kelso Jr.
- i. Assistant Zoning and Codes Enforcement Officer Glenn Kelso Jr.
- j. Open Records Officer Manager
- k. Assistant Open Records Officer Laci Hockenberry
- Township Solicitor & Compensation Salzmann Hughes Matt Boyer @ per Representation Agreement. No increase for 2025
- m. Planning Commission Solicitor & Compensation Salzmann Hughes Matt Boyer @ per Representation Agreement. No increase for 2025
- **n.** Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor & Compensation Steve Stine @ \$160 per hour. No increase for 2025.
- o. Township Engineering Service & Compensation C.S. Davidson @ 2025 fee schedule
- p. Emergency Services Administrator Charles E. Westcott @ \$525/quarter
- q. Assistant Emergency Services Administrator Barry J. Shughart @ \$525/quarter

- r. Local Emergency Management Coordinator Barry J. Shughart
- s. Assistant Local Emergency Management Coordinator Earl Bock
- t. CCTB Representative Manager
- **u.** CCTB Alternate Representative Glenn Kelso Jr.
- v. Delinquent Fire Tax Collector Carolyn McQuillen
- w. State Convention Voting Delegate Vice Chairperson DeGaetano or manager.
- x. Supervisors available in a Laborer/non-supervisor hourly role part time as required
 - 1) None
- y. Organizational Representatives:
 - 1) Municipal Advisory Board Manager or Supervisor
 - 2) Western Cumberland COG Representative Manager
 - 3) Alternate WCCOG Representative Glenn Kelso Jr.
 - 4) Regional Emergency Services Task Force Representative Manager
- **z.** Banks and Depositories:
 - 1) Orrstown Bank
 - 2) PLGIT
 - 3) F&M Trust
 - 4) BMO First Bank of Montreal
- aa. Conventions:
 - 1) Supervisors (non-employees)

a) County Convention - \$50.00 per day, plus mileage expense Registration fee is paid by Township.

b) State Convention - Reimburse for actual expenses for meals and mileage. Registration fee is paid by Township. Up to 4 days compensation paid for total or partial replacement of Supervisors lost wages or salary while attending the State Convention., in accordance with Section 1402 of the Second-Class Township Code.

2) Employees:

a) Seminars/Schools/Meetings – Hourly wage plus registration fee, mileage and meal expense reimbursement with Township Manager approval prior to attendance.

b) Meetings – Hourly paid employee is paid overtime for meeting attendance if the meeting is on a scheduled workday, or a Saturday or Sunday following a 40 hour work week. If the meeting is on a non-scheduled workday, the employee is paid regular hourly rate.

bb. Mileage and other expenses:

- 1) Mileage rate Adoption of the IRS Mileage Reimbursement rate effective January 1, 2025, at the IRS suggested rate or any subsequent change as announced.
- 2) Meals Actual cost, not to exceed \$35.00 per day
- **3)** Lodging Actual Expense, with Township Manager or Supervisors' approval prior to attendance.

cc. Commissions & Boards Expenses:

- 1) Planning Commission \$25.00 per meeting
- **2**) Zoning Hearing Board \$35.00 per meeting of 2 hours or less, \$15.00 for each additional hour

10. TREASURER'S BOND

Vice Chairperson DeGaetano motioned to approve the Treasure's Bond that has been established in the amount of \$3 Million provided by H.A. Thompson Company. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Line and passed unanimously.

11. APPOINTMENT/REAPPOINTMENT OF VARIOUS BOARDS/COMMITTEES

Vice Chairperson DeGaetano motioned to appoint/reappoint the various board/committee members for items 11a. (1) through 11a. (7). The motion was seconded by Supervisor Line and passed unanimously.

- a. Positions on Various Boards/Committees
 - 1) <u>Planning Commission</u> 2 Terms, expires 12/31/2028

Candidate: Justin Smith - seeking reappointment

Candidate: Nathan Merkel - seeking reappointment

2) Zoning Hearing Board - 1 Term, expires 12/31/27

Candidate: Harold Cooney - seeking appointment

 Alternate Zoning Hearing Board - 3 Positions, 3 Year Term Candidate: Michael Karli – seeking reappointment Candidate: Lorelei Coplen – seeking appointment Candidate: Rob Gervasio – seeking appointment

Page 4 of 5

- <u>Vacancy Board</u> 1 Term, Yearly Appointment Candidate: Larry Foote
- <u>Park & Recreation Committee</u> 1 Term, expires 12/31/2029 Candidate: Henry Koch, seeking reappointment
- 6) <u>Municipal Authority</u> 1 Term, expires 12/31/2029 Candidates: Doug Campbell - seeking reappointment
- Agricultural Security Board Yearly Appointment
 Robert "Bob" Line Supervisor Representative seeking reappointment
 Lorelei Coplen Active Farmer seeking reappointment
 David Walton Active Farmer seeking reappointment
 Alex Surcica Active Farmer seeking reappointment
 Vacant Citizen Representative

12. ADJOURNMENT

Vice Chairperson DeGaetano motioned to adjourn the organization meeting at 6:09PM. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Line and passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Laci Hockenberry Receptionist/Asst Secretary/Treasurer